Fasting

There’s another aspect of my life that I have yet to mention on the blog, and now is as good a time as any.

Since I was little, I was raised as a Baha’i.  Without going terribly into detail, it’s basically the newest world religion.  We believe that all of the prophets (including our prophet, Baha’u’llah) were sent from the one same God, so in essence, all religions agree in the same main principles (basically, be nice and loving), and are only set apart by their various social laws which have changed over the years as humanity progresses.  We mostly focus on spirituality, discovering the Truth for oneself, and being virtuous.

I actually met my boyfriend while I was serving at Louhelen Baha’i School a couple of summers ago, and he’s the reason I went to Denmark over winter (and plan to again next December.)  He also happens to be one of the reasons I actually gathered the courage to start a blog. 🙂

Anyway, the reason I’m talking about it at the moment is that this month is the month of fasting for the Baha’is.  Baha’i months are nineteen days long (and there are nineteen of them), and the month preceding our new year (which is on the first day of spring), we do not eat or drink from sunrise to sunset every day.

It is hard.

Not only is it physically difficult, but it’s incredibly challenging to try to concentrate on schoolwork instead of counting down the minutes until the sun sets every day.

And I really like food.

I really, really like food.  Food is what I think about when I’m bored in class.  It’s what I think about when I’m browsing the internet (*cough*foodgawker*cough*).  It’s what I think about all day, planning what I’m going to make for dinner, what I need to buy at the grocery store, what I can bake so that I’ll be stocked up on sweets for a few days.

I’m not complaining, it’s really my choice.  But…it’s difficult to want to post entries on a food blog when your stomach is grumbling and you still have….four hours and thirty minutes until sunset (four hours of which will be spent at work.  Catering.)  So excuse me if I put off my Nutella Pocket Cookies post until one of these days after the sun sets.

Leave a Reply

