Tillykke!

Let me start this post by saying that I don’t know if I’ve ever seen anyone so happy (and cute!) as the Danish handball team.

The Danes won the Euro Cup today against Serbia, and the following footage of the team celebration was like watching ridiculously happy seven-year-old boys whose hyperactivity doesn’t wear off.  Aww…it was so cute, I cried a bit.  And the keeper, Landin, got the best player award which was SO exciting because he is my favorite player.  I mean…he’s gotten nailed in the face with a handball, gotten back up (after shoving some cotton junk up his nose) and saved two more shots in a row!  Plus, he can do the splits.  That’s all I’m really asking for in a man.

In other happy news, I got another poem accepted!  It’s my pet poem, to boot!  I wrote it first in Danish and then translated it to English, and it’s all about my mother-in-law.  I knew it was special when I first wrote it, and I’m happy to see it find a home.  It also gave me the push I’ve been needing to go out and actually SUBMIT stuff, so I’m feeling motivated.

The last week or so I’ve been feeling pretty down and useless.  I’m not a particularly self-motivating person, so when I don’t have a purpose, or a reason to get up every morning, it’s easy for me to fall into a bored rut.  Now that my husband has graduated (with top marks, yay!) we’ll get to spend more time together, and he always helps me stay on top of my projects, so I’m looking forward to the next “hunk” of time until we move to Sweden.

Also, I’m going to start doing push-ups and sit-ups every day!  We’ll see how it goes.

I also experienced my first bout with homesickness the other day, though it was more family-sickness than America-sickness.  I have four sisters and two brothers, and now that we’re (almost) all grown up, we’re very spread out.  Over Christmas, we managed to gather all but two of us for a few days, and that’s the largest family gathering we’ve had in years.  This means that I often get “homesick” for my family, even when I lived at home, so it really can’t be helped.  Otherwise my transition to Denmark has been smooooooooth.  Tomorrow we have to go out shopping (my husband owes me a chocolate bar on a bet!  Candy is a bit more expensive here, so this is a treat.) and I’m excited for it (even though we’re just going to BILKA or Netto).  Also, I’m determined to take Andreas and my sister-in-law ice skating before we move!  Adventures!

Thank goodness the gloomy depression fog has lifted.  Thank you, handball team!  I’m convinced they played a part.

Leave a Reply

