Licorice

There are a few foods that I have discovered at integral to Danish culture.  Hazelnuts, marzipan, potatoes, and rugbrød to name a few, but something it seems most Danes can’t live without is licorice!  Unfortunately, I hate licorice.  However, I decided around New Year’s to try to like things I don’t like, and while some people claim that not having to eat things you don’t like is one of the best parts about finally being an adult, I have this thing where I have this aversion to being picky.  Probably comes from my almost-youngest-child personality, in that I want to please everyone, and when people refer to me as “the girl who likes everything” I couldn’t be more flattered.  In college I was crudely known as the girl who would eat “everything, included reheated poo” which I think might have been a reference to the purple Skittles, but I might be wrong.

See, I’m already a vegetarian, and that limits what I can eat a lot.  I don’t mind, and I usually don’t miss meat (unless confronted with a spicy sausage) but I don’t like being a pain to feed, when I’m a guest.  So I figure, the more foods I like, the easier I am to feed!

Anyway, I’ve been trying to eat things I don’t like: mushrooms, pears, and now, licorice!  And I’ve come a long way!  I just ate a candy-coated piece of licorice and my face didn’t contort!  I even vaguely enjoyed it.

Salt licorice, on the other hand is something I don’t think I’ll ever like.  I might as well try to like eating asphalt or chewy bile.   I know, I know, that’s a gross image.  But seriously.  Salt licorice.  Barf.

3 thoughts on “Licorice

  1. Oh, salt licorice! That sounds like something I could embrace… feel free to send some my way if you get the chance… as long as it’s wheat and dairy free :-P. I no longer ‘eat everything’…. and I do feel like I’m a pain to feed sometimes.

  2. Oh my, I forgot about the “reheated poo” thing. Ha. I think you’re right–it was about purple Skittles! Also, I didn’t know you don’t like pears.

  3. I know what you mean about spicy sausage! I think that’s the only meat I actually miss as well. pepperoni, sausage, salami (the real kind of course, not lunch meat *gag*). I do make a vegetarian pepperoni/salami that I slice up for pizzas and sandwiches, and it IS tasty, but not the same.

    I don’t hate licorice as much as when i was a kid either, but I certainly won’t seek it out. But it’s not popular here, so I am never really faced with it. But I DID learn to like to eat sauteed green leafy veggies when I moved here! That was a big one for me, I hated anything wilty and leafy before. But now I like them a lot!

Leave a Reply

