Kokos Kage

One of the best parts of living with my in-laws is that I get to (very frequently) bake with my sister-in-law Rebekka!  How I managed to pick a husband with such an awesome family is beyond me, but for now, I’ll just try to be eternally grateful and bake cakes for them all.  This one in particular was a hit with my father-in-law who was “helt vildt med det” (wild about it).

I have to admit, it was probably the best cake I’ve ever made.  It was SO fluffy.  So.  Fluffy.  And the frosting was basically a huge bowl full of the molten insides of roasted marshmallows.  That good.

I got the recipe here.  I especially liked the fact that the original recipe was dated 1976.  The best things are always old.

Since we’re pretty close to the arctic circle up here, and it gets dark at about five pm, we do most of our baking in the dark which doesn’t lend itself to process pictures…or finished-product photos either, now that I think about it.  We wanted to share this one as soon as it was assembled!  But I did cut a fat slice the next day for a mini photo op.  I’ve never really done food photography before, so for now, I’m just trying to make sure to photograph in natural light.  Next week we’re moving to our new apartment in Sweden, though, and I’m excited to start trying to stylize my pictures, too!

Anyway, this cake was impress-a-Danish-man good (which is really, really good).

2 thoughts on “Kokos Kage

  1. Pingback: My Spoiled Knitting Group | An American Hermit Crab in Denmark

Leave a Reply

