Springtime Rainbow Cake!

Happy Naw-Ruz!  Known to most people just as the beginning of spring, it marks the beginning of the Baha’i calendar year, and it means our period of fasting is over!  In celebration, I decided to make a rainbow cake, because what says happiness, new beginnings, and spring like rainbows!  (Also, I have a lot of leftover food coloring from our wedding last summer, so…)

The inside!

I wanted to take some neat process pictures, but this is what the kitchen actually looked like while I was in the middle of things:

and I wasn't about to clean up, just to take process pictures.

I’ve made a resolution recently to make a list of all the things I’ve always thought are too complicated or take too long to make, and make them all!  I know I would regret it if I wasted all this free time being bored and wishing I had something to do, so I’m going to stop using the excuse of “I’m really bad at self-motivation” and “I get really lonely, then bored, then depressed.”  Maybe it’s because it’s the new year, and the beginning of spring, but I’m full of energy.  It also might have something to do with being able to eat lunch…..and rainbow cake!

until all I have left, are rainbow crumbs

5 thoughts on “Springtime Rainbow Cake!

  1. 😮 the cake looks like it’d be one of those professional pictures of fun desserts you see on Pinterest! I miss baking things with food coloring (watermelon cookies especially). come to Paris so we can bake together!! lol

  2. Yay! Rainbow crumbs! I would love to take process pictures, too, and often find it’s so messy. I guess if you do it enough while you’re cooking you get the hang of it, OR you have someone with you to take the photos as you’re working. I’ll volunteer to take the photos, just come here :-).

Leave a Reply

