Versatile Blog Award

I want to extend a big thank you to Megalagom from Something Swedish, one of my favorite American-in-Sweden adventures to follow, for the Versatile Blogger Award.  This is a welcome honor, which, in the life of a housewife lies among (or should I say towers over?) other accomplishments such as remembering to water all the plants, and making Indian food for dinner.

The rules for the Versatile Blogger Award are as follows:

If you are nominated, you’ve been awarded the Versatile Blogger award.

1. Thank the person who gave you this award. That’s common courtesy.
2. Include a link to their blog. That’s also common courtesy — if you can figure out how to do it.
3. Select 15 excellent blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly.
4. Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award
5. Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.

Now, I’m quite new to the whole “blogging” scene, and while I do follow a fair few blogs, it seems that my nominator follows many of the same worthy ones!  So while I may not have fifteen whole nominations, I’ll do my best here.

1. Sangui(knit)ie–for her adventures in knitting and beyond, and always inspiring me to knit again when I thought I’d lost my motivation

2. A New Story–for recipes, lovely pictures of the finished products, and bits of daily life

3. Harrietvstheworld–for a fresh and honest take on her travels around Scandinavia, not to mention the plethora of photographs

4. Fly Away Home–extremely well-written and encouraging expat adventures

5. Yes, I’m Going to Marry a Carrot–a positive voice along a journey in a plant-based lifestyle, and some twins to add excitement!

6. Tomato and Lobster–Wonderful photos detailing a new life in New York, with some crafting and baking for good measure

Though I don’t have a vast array of followed blogs yet, participating in the Versatile Blog Award has brought so many more to my repertoire, and I’ve made it a goal to expand it even further soon.

Now for seven things about myself…

1. When I was young, my brother and I used to pretend we were eating dinner at “Cave Restaurant” and would snap pretend photographs of our plates for the menu before we’d eat.  Now I end up taking real photographs of my dinner for the blog!

2. When I read Pippi Longstocking at the age of 7, I developed an obsession with Scandinavia and vowed to marry a Norwegian.  As it turns out, a Dane is what Ireally wanted.

3. I have rather long arms.

4. I have the hardest time keeping plants alive, but still hope to someday have a successful garden to help feed my family fresh food!

5.  I feel like when I get sick, I turn into the biggest baby, though no one has ever confirmed this.  Maybe they’re afraid I’d burst into tears.  Who knows, maybe that’s true.

6. I like sunny days, and I like rainy days, but the gray days in between are quick to put me into a deep funk.

7. I’ve always felt that I fit in a bit better with people at least a couple of years older than I am.  This may or may not have to do with my love of cooking/baking, knitting, babies, and being quiet.

7 thoughts on “Versatile Blog Award

  1. I thank you from the bottom of my heart and of course accept. However, I am on my way to Amsterdam EARLY tomorrow for my book launch. I will therefore to wait a few days (until I get back) to officially accept this GREAT honor on my blog…
    Happy, happy!

    • I see you found this before I got a chance to “alert” you! Always happy to recognize some of my favorite bloggers, and look forward to seeing yours in a few days!

  2. Thanks for nominating me! 🙂 It made my day! Currently I’m looking for a job, and gosh that can be exhausting as well ha ha! And sometimes so boring. Blogging is good when you want to focus on something else..

    Are you learning Swedish? I’m trying to improve my English 🙂 I’ve seen that you’re knitting/chrocheting, do you know any good place where you can buy yarn in Malmö? I used to knit before (I met my boyfriend ha ha!).. the thing is that he LOVES to watch tv, and I just came up with the idea to knit AND watch tv on the same time haha! (clever isn’t it, not 😉 )..

    • HI! I’m only vaguely learning Swedish, as this isn’t where we’re settling permanently, but I think I have a language-brain because I catch myself repeating random phrases from commercials and understanding lots of Swedish! I actually haven’t really been to any yarn stores yet, but I have passed one on Södraförsladsgatan a few times, and I’m excited to go explore it someday! I almost always watch TV while I knit/crochet. If you’d like to have a chance to practice your English, we could have a knit-a-thon together and chat, as you can see, I have an awful lot of free time, haha!

  3. Pingback: 100. 100 Blog Posts | harrietvstheworld

  4. Pingback: Updates and Sunny Weekends | Sangui(knit)ie

Leave a Reply

