Candy and Yarn Exchange

My mother-in-law (I refuse to use the acronym of MIL because that is far too close to another acronym) sent me a link to a group on Ravelry that she thought would be a perfect fit for me.  As usual, she was right.  It’s an international candy and yarn exchange group, and every few months, they organize an exchange that you can sign up for.  They try to match up people from the states with people abroad, and I got paired with a woman from Oregon.  My love of candy and my love of knitting were combined, and I was excited!

I was especially excited because my exchange partner loves licorice!  There is so much more variety in licorice here in Scandinavia (which makes sense, given their extreme love for the stuff), and even though I don’t really like it, it’s fun to be able to buy it for other people.  I would always stock up when I visited, and bring some home for my mom who loves licorice, but since I don’t have a trip to the US planned anytime soon, it was nice to do it for someone else.

***This paragraph is slightly off-topic, but isn’t extensive enough to warrant a post of its own: I’ve started to like licorice.  I know, I know, who AM I?  But it all started with these strawberry-and-licorice medallions that my husband popped into our “loose candy” bag.  He wasn’t sure it was licorice, so he had me take a bite.  It was licorice, but it was extremely mild and sweet, and you know what?  I liked it.  Next time he picked one up, and asked if I wanted to share it, I said yes.  I said “yes” to licorice, albeit what we’re calling “gateway” licorice.  We’ll see how long it takes me to get into the “hard licorice,” aka salted licorice. ***

Anyway, it was a lot of fun to pick out candy and yarn, and even though the postage cost almost as much as the contents of the package, we sent it off to the US.
I included some “normal” candy bars (center), some “fancy” candy bars (salted almond and licorice), some gummi-mix, Dumle (which are sort of like chocolate-covered toffee candies), Bilar (marshmallow-y car-shaped candies, and assorted hard candies.

When I got mine, I was thrilled!
Skittles!  My exchange partner asked me if there was anything I especially missed from the states, and I do miss Skittles the most, but I didn’t say so, since I wanted a complete surprise package.  I guess she’s good at mind-reading, though!  The little chocolate bars decorated like mail are not only adorable, but really, really good, and the yarn is exactly something that I would have chosen for myself.  I’m really excited to find something to make with it, it’s a deliciously soft Merino wool.

I’m savoring the candy and have only eaten a teeny bit of it (so far).  It was such a fun thing to do, that I’ll definitely try to do another cycle of it in the future.  Not only was it fun to pick out candy for my partner, but I, like every other person on the planet, love getting packages in the mail, so it was really just a solidly fun thing to do.

5 thoughts on “Candy and Yarn Exchange

  1. What a great idea! I may have to join into something like that, although the only thing I can knit is a solid length of yarn, which I call scarves! haha.

    • Scarves count! It added and extra dose of excitement to these rainy days, so I’d definitely recommend it to anyone in Sweden this summer 😛

Leave a Reply

