Liebster!

Hooray, I’ve been nominated by the lovely Hemborg Wife for the Liebster award!  I double-like reading her blogs because 1) we have a lot of the same challenges and difficulties living over here as housewifes in Sweden and 2) she’s super honest, which means I can identify even better with her, knowing someone else can be just as frustrated, just as happy, and just as silly as me!
So, I’m a big fan of these chain-awards, or whatever you want to call them.  First of all, they most often involve answering questions or posting facts about oneself, and I get to soothe the narcissistic part of myself in talking about myself! (As if having a blog in itself doesn’t sate my narcissism enough).  But mostly I like the way they sort of bond the blog world together.  You get to discover new blogs to read, meet new blog friends, etc.  and as someone who has a hard time meeting new people in real life, it’s lovely to meet them online where I can use backspace liberally and never worry about having food stuck between my teeth.
So, here are the rules:
1. Each person posts 11 things about themselves
2. Answer the questions the nominator made for you, and create 10 more questions for the blogs you nominate.
3. Choose nominations and link them to your post.
4. Go to their page and tell them.
So I guess first, I’ll come up with 11 new facts about me!
1. Music is not my life.  As a teenager (and a pretty angsty one at that) I was surrounded by people who proclaimed music their heart and soul, the one thing they couldn’t life without.  As I grew up a bit more I was surrounded by more people who were less melodramatic, but enjoyed talking about music, comparing music, and finding new music to listen to.  I’m more than happy to listen to new stuff I’m introduced to, and often keep listening to it, but for the most part, oldies are where it’s at for me, and I go weeks without consciously listening to music.  I’m usually too embarrassed to admit this.
2. I wanted to like green olives so much that I actually started to like green olives.  I’m now trying this technique with strong mustard, mushrooms, and licorice (but not the salty kind, because I don’t even want to like that).
3. I still write poems on a fairly regular basis, and try to submit them so I won’t disappointe my college poetry teacher who thought I had great potential.  Every time I see something he posts on Facebook, I feel guilty if I haven’t poet-ed recently.  He was probably the most influential teacher I ever had.
4. There’s a library less than a kilometer away from our new apartment, and I could not be more excited.  I love libraries.  (also, fun extra fact: “new” Danes (immigrants) use the library a lot more than non-immigrant Danes.  That is one statistic I am happy to become a part of).
5. One of my recent goals is to get better at getting packages together and writing letters and actually sending them.  Right away.  Along the same vein, I’m trying to finish projects I start, and not leave so many things “hanging.”  I think it’ll be good for my guilt-o-meter.
6.  I used to think I was a night-owl. My mom’s a night owl, and in college I loved staying up late with my friends (or, you know, all night).  Turns out, I only loved that because I love my friends.  I’m a morning person.  I’m always happier in the morning than I am at night.  I like being up before other people are (though that doesn’t happen terribly often) and I love, love, love morning light streaming in the windows (although when it streams in at 4 am in the Scandinavian summer, I can be disgruntled.)
7.  I normally hate moving, but this time, for the big move to Denmark, I’m enjoying the heck out of it. Shh! Don’t tell!
8.  Almost every time I watch Friends, which is super often, I want to order pizza.
9.  I’m supposed to be putting on my clothes and starting the day, but it’s going to be a busy day, and I can’t make myself get out of bed yet (also, I need to finish this post before the craziness starts!)
10.  I wish I bruised more easily.  I hardly ever bruise.  Even when I was in karate and would do sparring, I would only bruise when it was the nastiest of hits.  All of my other friends compared their battle wounds, and sported them for weeks afterwards.  I once got punched in the eyeball, cried actual tears of blood (probably my most badass moment) and still didn’t get any bruise or black eye out of the deal.
11.  Andreas is going to make me go to the dentist when we get to Denmark, and I’m mighty afraid of what they’ll find.
Now for the second part! Questions!  My favorite!
1. If you could have a theme song for your life what would it be?
Oh.  Considering what my first fact about myself was, this is kind of a hard question to answer.  Actually, it’s super hard.  But I am going to go with “I Will” by The Beatles because I felt like I was always just waitin’ for Andreas, knowing he was the one I was in love with.
2. What is your favorite type of sandwich?
This is super hard, especially since I have hardly eaten a single sandwich in the last year or so, but I’m going to go with tuna salad (with onions and celery), mustard (the yellow kind), pickles, lettuce, and tomatoes.  And now, I really want a sandwich.
3. Would you rather be a famous actress, signer, or author?
This sounds silly, since I love writing poetry, and that’s the most likely way for me to become famous, but ever since I was really little I wanted to be a famous actress.  Still do, a little bit.
4. If you could live anywhere where would it be?  Danish countryside with a hobby farm (including an alpaca) that is close enough to the city to be easily accessible.  With apple trees.  And several children.  Hands down.
5. If you could invite anyone in the world, living or dead, to your birthday party who would it be?
William Sears, the writer.  When I was a baby, he kissed me on the forehead at a Baha’i conference, and ever since I was little, I had this vague feeling he was my guardian angel.  Then I read his books and was even more sure.  Weird, right?  Anyway, I’d like to invite him to my birthday party.
6. If you could have any animal as a pet what would it be?
Well gee, I would actually be pretty happy with the general “large dog” category, but if I’m supposed to be creative, I’d say a teeny tiny bear.
7. If you were to invite a life changing item what would it be?
Teleportation device, definitely.  I can’t count the times I’ve wished for one of those.
8. What is your least favorite movie?
My least favorite movie I’ve ever seen might be The Last Exorcism which was really rotten.  The entire theater groaned at the end of it.  I had a hard time deciding between that and Transformers II which was the loudest movie I ever sat through in the theater, and also, the loudest thing I have ever slept through.  Yup, the whole thing.  I’m not including the movies I’ve seen outside of the theater because if it’s no good, I fall asleep or leave.
9. What is your favorite holiday tradition?
My all-time favorite holiday tradition is everybody making Thanksgiving dinner together, and having pumpkin pie for breakfast.  This year, I’m introducing Thanksgiving to my Danish family, and I’m really excited to do it, but I’m also probably going to be very homesick, considering it’s my first Thanksgiving away from home.
10. What is your favorite recipe to prepare?
Doughnuts are probably my most favorite thing to prepare.  Mostly because it’s something I never do alone, and I love having company in the kitchen.  Also, doughnuts are best when they’re super fresh which gives us an excuse to eat them as we make them!
Oh darn, the question part is over.  Now for my turn to make some:
1.What’s something that gives you the heebie jeebies (like that nails-on-a-chalkboard feeling…if you don’t know what heebie jeebies are)?
2. What’s the most useful gift you ever received?
3. If you could instantly learn to do one “crafty” or “handy” thing, what would it be?
4. Name one thing that you were made to use/wear when you were little that you hated.
5. What’s your favorite method of transportation?
6. What’s something you always stock in your fridge?
7. What makes you feel like the luckiest person on the planet?
8. If you could choose one habit for yourself to break, what would it be?
9. What’s a game you played when you were a kid that you wish was still as fun as it was back then?
10. Who is the last person you talked to?  What do you admire about them?
And now for my nominees!  I always have a hard time with nominees, worrying that the people I nominate will not really be interested in doing it, but I’ll set aside my insecurities and nominate away!
These are just a few of the blogs I follow that I think do a really good job of staying up-beat, positive, and inspiring!
Happy Liebstering!
7 thoughts on “Liebster!

Leave a Reply

