un-under-over-qualified

So the other day I dipped my baby toe into the world of job searching.  I found a pretty standard job search site, which, while it was in Danish, I could figure out pretty well.  Then it all sort of went to hell.

I have no idea what I can do here.  I occasionally curse myself for not having a very valuable college degree, and not a whole lot of work experience.  I don’t know how to make a Danish CV (although I’m sure Andreas and probably the job center can help me out with that when I’m ready) and I don’t know what I’m qualified to do.  I don’t know how far I can get with the Danish skills that I’ve taught myself, and I fear that it’s nowhere near far enough.  There are a few jobs I think I’d like, but besides the possible language barrier, I don’t know if you have to have any specific education to have that sort of position (a helper at a daycare).  The ads didn’t mention anything like that, and although I’m sure they could let me know, if I called, I’m not quite to that point yet.

I’m not feeling particularly discouraged, (surprisingly, considering my history of being easily discouraged) but I am feeling a bit confused and leery.  I’d like to have work, but I should first probably concentrate on wedging myself into a Danish class as soon as I can.  I have a feeling I’ll have to pass a certain level before I can start midwifery school (if I even get into midwifery school) so that’s the priority, really, but I am also looking forward to maybe being able to contribute a bit, and since we’ve just moved and still need to buy quite a few things, we could use the extra money!

I’ll do a better search another day, maybe with Andreas peeking over my shoulder, and then after that see what the job center can help me with, but first, I’ll see what I can do about these Danish classes…

It’s really strange, having things to arrange and think about.  I have to shift out of neutral and get to work, but it’s pretty hard, considering I’ve been keeping myself in neutral for a pretty long period of time…we’ll see how much luck I have on that front…

Anyway, I almost blogged every day in November, and am pretty excited about that!  Now for the first day of December, and a nearby flea market!

4 thoughts on “un-under-over-qualified

  1. I feel your pain. I’m sort of in the same boat, minus the language barrier. As soon as my visa comes through, I have to start looking for a job. I have a totally useless degree and I’m not sure how relevant any of my work experience is or what kind of qualifications I have to have to do anything. I sort of got some experience with Australian CVs when my husband was looking for a new job, but I don’t really know how to go about applying for one myself or even what I should consider applying for. I can only imagine how much more difficult in must be when you’re doing it all in another language. I certainly wish you luck!

    • Thanks! Yeah…it can be confusing, but I’ll muddle my way through it. The other problem is also that I have a lot of food-service and customer-service experience, but I don’t want to work odd hours with weekends and evenings, because I want to finally be able to spend time with my husband, so I’m passing up those job ads. I’m just glad I’m in no real rush, so I don’t have to get too stressed out about it!

Leave a Reply

