Officially

People tend to use the word “officially” in the same way they use the word “literally”… mostly incorrectly.  Now, I’m not complaining, I do the same thing all the time.  It snowed: winter is officially here!  Christmas music on the radio?  Winter is officially here!  I literally cannot wait for Christmas!

Today I officially started my language class process!  Granted, I only made an inquiry, and got information on when I could come in for a test, but to me, it’s starting because it’s farther than I’ve gotten before!  I suppose it’ll really get started once I actually take the test, but let’s just say I’m on the path to appease me.  It actually took a while to muster up the courage to make the phone call, even after I decided not to do it in Danish.  Honestly, I probably could have without any problems, but as far as speaking Danish for official business over the phone…I’m not quite there yet.  Tomorrow (or the day after) I’ll see where I officially am after I take my placement test!  I wouldn’t be particularly nervous about it except that it’s not just a written test.  It’s a short bit of writing (which I’m not particularly good at yet, especially in the spelling department) and then a conversation with someone who evaluates you.  As far as having conversations in Danish, I do pretty well!  But when it comes to having a conversation with a stranger, for the purpose of being evaluated, I’m probably going to be awful, so I’m not hoping for a particularly high placement.  The higher the placement the better, in my eyes, since I’ll be able to get through the course more quickly, and who doesn’t want that?

The course has 5 “modules” the first four of which take 6 weeks each and the fifth which takes 18-24 weeks.  Then I can take the official test and speak Danish.  Officially.  However, there’s also a sixth module which you take if you’re looking to go into higher education in Denmark.  Which I probably am, so I’m probably going to have to take that one as well.  This is good and bad news.  Good news because it means I’ll be ready for school when I finally get to go, and bad because I’m pretty sure it means putting my midwifery dreams on hold for a while, while I spruce up my language skills.  So, here’s hoping that I get into a pretty high level, so I don’t have to wait too long to start helping bring babies into the world!

Leave a Reply

