Gingerbread House!

Kind of a lot has been happening around here recently!  We went to visit Andreas’s family for Christmas, saw the Hobbit (twice), and did another big IKEA trip which has resulted in our apartment already being much cozier (even though we haven’t put everything together yet).

But for now, I’ll focus on the gingerbread house!  Guys, it was amazing.  Andreas was pretty sick over the majority of our visit to his parents, so his sister and I did most of the work for the houses.  I forgot how much I miss doing math when I used the pythagorean theorem to figure out how tall to make my house-peaks.  His sister and I made a small house each which was really fun, but I unfortunately didn’t get nice pictures of hers as it wasn’t finished in the morning when I did mine in the sunlight.  She was much more extensive with the landscape, making a pool, a doghouse, and what I think might’ve been a birdbath.  But anyway, with no further ado, mine and Andreas’s Gingerbread House!

The front garden (notice the wreath above the door, and Andreas's professional decorating skills on the roof)

The front garden (notice the wreath above the door, and Andreas’s professional decorating skills on the roof)

The mailbox with a package in it!

The mailbox with a package in it!

Our snowman (with his broom) and the snow-covered tree

Our snowman (with his broom) and the snow-covered tree

I think we were getting a little tired by the time we got to the back.

I think we were getting a little tired by the time we got to the back.

Andreas's handiwork again.  I was skeptical when it was just the big candies, but when he added the M&Ms, it all came alive!

Andreas’s handiwork again. I was skeptical when it was just the big candies, but when he added the M&Ms, it all came alive!

GH side 2

This was my side to decorate. I don’t know if I’ve ever done a gingerbread house without a log pile (usually in the states I use Tootsie Rolls, but these turned out even better!)

Andreas and I worked surprisingly well together to decorate our house.  He made sure the foundation was sturdy (which is where my main gingerbread house problems all begin) and it turns out we both really like to add tiny details to our sweet little house.  Andreas has already proclaimed that it’s a Christmas activity we’ll definitely be doing in the future with the kids, and it sure helped make Christmas a little more Christmassy!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Gingerbread House!

Leave a Reply

