Danish Classes!

So today is a big day for me!  I’m starting Danish classes tonight!

I wanted to get into a daytime class, but the one at my level was full, so I have to leave soon after Andreas gets home from work, and don’t come back until after 10.  After I get used to it, it probably won’t be a big deal, but especially today, I wish I could just “get it over with.”  Fortunately my anxiety is surprisingly less than I expected, so I’m hoping it holds out through the day, and I’ll try to start my next knitting project to distract myself further.

I, of course, have the standard anxieties about being in the wrong level, not knowing as much as the other students, and sounding ridiculous when I speak Danish, but luckily, I’ve had lots of practice with that last one!  I also expected to feel really anxious about meeting new people, and the prospect of probably having to work and speak in groups (my least favorite thing about any type of class ever) but I am surprisingly calm.  Maybe because I’ve been feeling sick, and I’m more anxious about feeling like I’m going to throw up in the middle of class than I am about talking to people, but also possibly because I’m really ready.  I got used to having a certain amount of social contact in Sweden.  We knew our neighbors and would say hello and chat when we ran into them.  I had my weekly knitting group to go to (which I miss desperately) and I would occasionally see these people around town.  There’s something really comforting about running into people you know “around town.”   Something that makes you feel like you belong.

Since moving to Copenhagen, I’ve met just about no one.  Lately, it’s started to take a toll on me, and I’ve been feeling really lonely.  Usually, I treasure alone time (and I still do) but I think I may have “filled my tank” and maybe I’m actually ready to meet and speak to people who aren’t Andreas or…..Andreas.

Wish me luck!

8 thoughts on “Danish Classes!

  1. Have fun in class! I’m sure you’ll do great. That stinks that it is at night, though, tiring! Is it 5 days a week? We miss you on Skype, hope to see you around soon!

Leave a Reply

