Danish Class: First Impressions

Yesterday evening, I attended my first Danish class.  After I wrote my post yesterday, I spent most of the day waiting for the nerves to kick in.  Oddly enough, they never did.  I caught my buses, and got there early.  The only time I felt anxious was the five or ten minutes before our classroom opened up, when I was standing around in the hallway, unsure of what the pre-class protocol is.

Now, when I was really little, I was obsessed with playing school.  We had an assortment of textbooks in our house, ranging from a health book written in 1952 to a couple of algebra books.  I remember pretending I had mountains of homework before I even started kindergarten: practicing copying the letters out of my thick Winnie-the-Pooh book (because any book over an inch thick was also considered a textbook).  When I started first grade, I was excited.  I was finally out of kindergarten.  I’d be getting a desk to put my school supplies in, instead of sitting at a table, and I figured I would be getting homework.  And I did.  The first time I got homework, I couldn’t wait to get started on it.  I had my after-school snack and then sat down at the table with my older siblings and a sharpened pencil.  The homework took me less than five minutes to finish.  I felt let-down.  My sisters were just getting started on their reading, writing, math, etc. and I was already done.  I felt jipped.

I felt the same way yesterday on my way home.  I’m really excited to be in Danish class, but I was a bit disappointed at how easy the class is.  I was nervous about being behind, but I didn’t even think about the fact that the class might be too easy.  I really like my teacher, and the practice in speaking is really great, but it’s not any more helpful than speaking with Andreas and his family is.  I’m hoping maybe it will get more challenging as the class progresses, but in the meantime, it takes a lot to not be bored.

I also had forgotten how it felt to be in a class that was a little too easy for me.  I feel like I’m suffering from Hermione Granger syndrome.  I try to choose carefully which questions I answer, and I always wait around for other people to chime in first, but I already felt like I was a know-it-all (although I don’t think I come off that way.)

Nevertheless, it’s nice to get out of the house and meet a few people, and maybe after this module, it’ll get a little more advanced.

5 thoughts on “Danish Class: First Impressions

  1. Haha, that’s funny about the kindergarten homework. Hopefully the class will get more advanced. With it being the first day it is possible that the teacher is just gauging how everyone is doing before delving into new material. For some reason as I was reading this I was thinking about the British show called Mind Your Language

    • Hmmm, I don’t think I know that show. I’m hoping maybe it’ll get more advanced, but I’m judging more on the book, and it doesn’t really look like it, so we’ll see. Maybe she’ll give extra work, and we’ll do more writing later on 🙂

    • There’s actually a lot of level separation. There are three separate “levels” to separate people who aren’t literate, who are, and who have some higher education. Then each level is separated into modules, of which I tested into four out of five, so I figured it would be more difficult, I guess. But my mother-in-law gave me some ideas of what I can do, and I might speak to my teacher after a while and ask if there are options to move faster, etc.

  2. The first week of language courses always seems pretty slow and “Mixed up” because teachers are still figuring out the students levels and what they need help with. Hopefully once it breaks down into my individual review, you’ll get assignments that you need help with! It’s never a bad thing to review even the easy stuff, just go with it! The rest will follow, like the grammar that you haven’t picked up along the way. Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

