A Year (and a little bit)

Woah.  Hold on, guys.

I’ve had a lot of stuff going on in the past couple of months, and the “anniversary” of this little blog, and my adventures here in Scandinavia has completely slipped past me without warning!

Last night, as I was on my way home from Danish, I was just sitting there on the bus, and suddenly, my entire life just…hit me.  I’ve had several moments of this as I’ve passed through various life stages and changes.  When I was very little, I used to look at my sisters’ schoolbooks with awe, thinking that I couldn’t wait until I had a textbook three inches thick.  Then suddenly, it was ten years later, and I was flipping with purpose through my three-inch-thick literature textbook, scanning for quotes when I realized just how perfect my life was.

For me, at least, my life hardly ever seems “perfect.”  Day-to-day worries and stressors cloud my long-term vision, but every once in a while I have to take a step back and realize how completely ideal my current life is, and how wonderfully in line it is with how I imagined my life to be when I was 3 or 8 or 19.

I remembered back to three years ago (almost to the day!), when I was visiting Denmark for the first time.  Andreas and I were spending a weekend in Copenhagen, staying with his sister and her then-boyfriend (now husband).  We took the train there, and she herded us onto the metro, then later onto a bus or two and I clutched my backpack and thought to myself, “Wow.  She actually lives here, and she knows everything.”

I flashed forward to the present, and here I was, catching subsequent buses, just walking down the street like someone who belongs in Copenhagen, doing my Copenhagen stuff, and just living.  Here I am, married to Andreas (which I know for a fact was the thing that I wanted most back then during that first visit to Denmark because that’s when I started wishing it on all of my lost eyelashes), living together, seeing each other every single day.  Here I am, living in Denmark, with a real visa, speaking Danish, and getting mail from the hospital, for goodness’ sake!

I know I’ve been being a bit of a negative nancy recently, but it really helped me yesterday to realize that my life is, indeed, headed exactly in the direction I’ve wanted and imagined it to be.

Nothing like a little life-assessment on the bus ride home.

 

One thought on “A Year (and a little bit)

Leave a Reply

