Identity Crisis of Sorts

Ever since I let it be public knowledge that Andreas and I are expecting, I thought that the blogging would pick up immediately!  I’d finally told my news, now I could write freely again, right?!  Except that I forgot about what happens to a blog when the blogger undergoes some sort of huge life change.  I’ve had vague ideas for posts, but dismiss them sometimes as “too pregnancy” or “too baby-y.”  I know some of the people who read this blog aren’t really interested in all that stuff, and don’t want me go to into any sort of detail.  I wavered on starting a new blog just for the pregnancy and baby thing, but the truth is, it didn’t work.  Guys, my life is changing, and so is this blog.

I want to feel free to post updates about how stuff is going.  I want to talk about how weird it is that all the baby research and reading I’ve done is suddenly null and void because we’re raising a baby in Denmark, and apparently you can’t get the same stuff here.  I want to talk about being nervous or being hormonal or being completely overwhelmed about what’s happening in six months.  I want to talk about my petty dilemma over whether or not to find out the sex of the baby next month.

And so I’m going to.  Because if I don’t, I probably won’t blog much at all.  Not that all of the posts will be baby-centric, but I know that once I get the blog rolling, it’ll inspire more of the other posts!  The ones that I used to write, about baking, and being an immigrant, and my knitting adventures.  When I first started blogging, I had the same mini-crisis.  I didn’t know what type of blog to be.  Should I be a food blog?  Or a crafty blog? Or a feelings blog?  And then I just said to myself “write whatever you want.”  And I did.  And it’s worked.  Someone always reads what I write, and even if they don’t, that doesn’t mean they won’t read the next post.  So I’m officially giving myself free reign to write about whatever I want to write about, and I’m hoping the lack of inhibitions will give me a little bit more inspiration, and I can get an American Hermit Crab in Denmark back on track!

2 thoughts on “Identity Crisis of Sorts

  1. It feels like a fine line to walk, right? But it is your blog, and your experiences, and maybe one day your memories to look back on so write about it all! I’m interested in whatever you have to say about your experience in Denmark – it’s such a new and interesting time 🙂

Leave a Reply

