Running Again (with an extra sports bra this time around)

So back in the summer/fall, I did some posts on my running!  The program I was on worked really well for me, and I was really happy with the results.  Finally, I loved running!

But then…it was November.  And it was cold.  And we moved (to an area I didn’t know).  And I stopped.  And then I found out I was pregnant.  Now, part of my reason for starting running this summer, was to get into the habit so I could just…continue on during pregnancy and stay fit!  But the habit was already stalled, and I was sick and more tired than I imagined.  I was not going to brave the Copenhagen cold and run.  No way.  Forget that.

Lately, I’ve begun feeling a bit better.  The nausea subsided, the tiredness…well…occasionally that’s better, too, and I started venturing off the couch to actually do some things.  And then, of course, I got a bad cold and retreated back to my corner of the couch.  But I couldn’t get running out of my head.  It was so ingrained in there, I started to have dreams about running.  I would run, and run, and I would feel great.  I woke up and I’d think, “I really miss running.”

So at my first midwife appointment, I asked her advice on whether or not it would be a good idea for me to start up again, and I got the green light.  Basically, she told me to folow my instincts.  If anything felt “wrong” or heavy or uncomfortable, I should take it easy.  So a week later, and almost completely recovered from my cold, I decided to try it.

Two sports bras and a slice of clementine later and I was…..gagging over the kitchen garbage.  It was not a good clementine.  But I rallied, ate an apple, pulled on my shoes and went out.  What I didn’t realize was that it had also snowed two or three inches overnight, which doesn’t make for the best running conditions, but I went on, and once I got to the park (about a 20-minute walk) the snow wasn’t melting on the paths, and I felt I had enough traction to start running!  And it felt good!

I made sure to take it really slow, and only run in about 3-minute spurts between walking, but I’m really glad I did.  I feel like I know now that I can, and while I might not run as much as I used to, it’s still an option, and I want to keep going until it gets too difficult.  It makes me really optimistic about the next few months, and I’m really looking forward to the weather improving, although if I’m being realistic that will probably coincide with getting too big and/or uncomfortable to go out running much.  I’m hoping, however, that once it gets a bit warmer, I can convince Andreas to come on long walks in the park with me.  I’ve never been very good at getting him to, but maybe with puppy dog eyes and a baby belly, I will be more convincing!

Overall, it was a great day so far, and I am really excited about how smoothly everything went!  I’d forgotten how good it feels to be out, and it didn’t hurt that the little baby bump was pretty noticeable under my running kit.  Today I really felt that “we” were going out there, and so even though the running was slow and easy, today felt like a big deal.

Leave a Reply

