Excuses, excuses!

Oops.

I forgot to write for a while, guys.  I have a bunch of excuses, but none of them are very good, so I’ll spare the space and just get one with a catch-up post!

Things are definitely starting to move faster, now.  When I was in the beginning weeks of my pregnancy, I would count down the days until I could be in the next week, longing for double digits and a sense of security that sort of comes with that.  Now that I’m smack dab in the middle of the fun part, I wouldn’t mind staying where I am for a while before I start to get really big, really heavy, and turn into that whale/elephant/hippopotamus I hear shows up in the eight/ninth months.

Life is also starting to move along at quite a pace!  The last week or two have been sort of out of the ordinary for us.  I took my module test for Danish, which went perfectly fine, but caused me to have a pretty busy and hectic week.  Then after a visit to our little niece, Andreas and I both came down with rough colds, and by the time we recovered from that, it was Andreas’s “spring break” which was also when his family came to visit for the long weekend, and we had a string of get-togethers which were all very lovely, but as usual, made me feel more homesick than usual.  No matter how much I feel accepted by and lucky to have Andreas’s family, every time I’m with them I’m rammed with double-feelings.  Happy to be with them, and suddenly really sad to not have my own family around.  I think it’s been a lot worse since I”ve been pregnant, and more prone to feelings in general, haha!

Anyway, this week is also quite busy, with just a lot of things going on, but I’m looking forward to tonight and the next few days where we can relax and get back into our normal routine again.

It also seems that spring has sprung, and although it’s a cold spring, it’s been sunny and above freezing (for the most part) for several days!  There are rumors of a snowstorm on Friday/Saturday, but I’m choosing to ignore them and be optimistic.

I’m also going to be starting a new daily routine as of next week.  I’m going to have Danish classes four days a week from 9-12 am, and the fourth day I”ll have my evening grammer class.  I’m excited to have a schedule, and a reason to get out of bed in the morning instead of stay cuddled up in bed with my laptop until nearly noon, and while I’m a bit nervous for starting what feels like a “real life” here, I’m sure it’ll be fine, especially once I get started.  The bad news is that I checked out the class schedule for the summer/fall, and I won’t be able to complete any of the six-week “modules” but I’m hoping that with maybe online classes combined with some real-life ones, I’ll be able to keep up with some of it.  We’ll see if I even care, come August…but I know it’s really important for me to keep going so I can go onto real school, and I know Andreas will help keep me on track.

For now, I’m going to bust out the puzzle I bought at the flea market last week (along with some other sweet finds), try to get into a real routine, and look forward to everything that’s to come (summer weather, baby, visit to the US) and forget about all the other things (big Danish test, cold weather, stress, and homesickness).

6 thoughts on “Excuses, excuses!

  1. I, too, enjoyed that middle of pregnancy time the most! And I was much more homesick than usual when pregnant as well!! Don’t worry if in the fall you take a few months off from your Danish classes if you need to/want to. Especially the first 1-2 months after baby is born there is a LOT to focus on and still a LOT of crazy hormone stuff happening, so go easy on yourself, you can always pick up again a few months later 🙂

    • Well, the thing is the test I was going to take is at the end of November/beginning December and isn’t offered again until the next May. We’ll see, though 🙂

  2. I understand about the having fun equaling homesickness conundrum, it often happens when we hang out with our friends here for me and even though I have tons of fun it makes me remember my friends in California then that downer of missing everyone comes.

  3. Oh I loved every part of my pregnancies but it is very nice to get into the safety zone. Totally impressed by your dedication in learning Danish, I should have learnt Swedish properly from the start. Too late now!

    • It’s never quite too late! But I know the feeling. I’ve definitely been enjoying the pregnancy, but it’s a whole lot easier to enjoy now when I get to feel and see the little weirdo move around in there than it was when I was just sick all the time and couldn’t even think about food, haha!

Leave a Reply

