So that’s what heartburn feels like – and other making-a-baby stories

So, I’m still working on making this baby.  Sometimes, it feels like it’s taking for.ev.er. and sometimes it’s like “what? I’m due in three months?”

And sometimes it’s like “what’s this weird feeling in my throat?”  I wondered about it for a full day before I realized…it’s heartburn!  Now, ever since I was a kid, I’ve wondered what heartburn is.  I’d had headaches, bellyaches, scrapes, stubbed toes, and, one time, a bruised lump on my forehead so big that my skull is permanently bump-scarred.  But I always saw these commercials with people rubbing their chests with pained faces and wondered what exactly they were feeling.  Every once in a while I’d have a pain in my chest, and I would think is this heartburn?! but it never was.  But this…this is heartburn.  And now that the novelty has worn off, I don’t like it.  I’m trying not to do the normal things they tell you not to do, like eat a lot before bed, spicy foods, fatty foods, etc.  But sometimes it doesn’t really matter.  Sometimes I have to fall asleep sitting up, and then when I wake up in the middle of the night and think I can lay down, I get heartburn and have to sit up again.

There are other side-effects to baby-building as well…

  • waking up at 4:30 for no good reason.  And staying awake.
  • getting flour on the ever-growing belly
  • really, really, really sore calves
  • and charlie horses
  • a once-deep belly button getting rather flatt-ish (still crossing my fingers it won’t poke out or anything)
  • hips so sore I’ve already started waddling
  • really quickly-growing fingernails
  • extreme variations in appetite (sometimes, I feel like I could eat the whole world.  Sometimes, all I want is a bagel all day)
  • everyone offering me the soft blue chair in my Danish class…

That’s no comprehensive list or anything but it’s what’s been happening recently (especially the flour on the belly thing).  And just now, I thought of my belly as a separate identity.  I was watching the baby dance around to some music I had playing, when I had to take one of my many potty-breaks, and as I was sitting there, I thought “oh man, I might be missing seeing the baby moving around out there!”  Then I remembered that I had, indeed, brought my belly into the bathroom with me.  And that I hoped the baby wouldn’t move around, because it always weirds me out when it does that when I’m on the toilet.

Andreas and I went to our first parent-preparedness class last night!  The night’s theme was more focused on the changing family dynamics, and how important it is to prepare and protect your relationship as a couple, which we’ve already talked about a lot, but it was exciting just to go to one of those classes.  We also got to play briefly with Legos, which was probably my favorite part of the night. There will be three more classes, the next will be about birth, the next about breastfeeding, and the last one will be after all of our babies have been born!  There were five other couples there (there were supposed to be three more) and I’m pretty certain they were all significantly older than Andreas and I, but I expected that, and it really doesn’t matter to me.  I’m much more excited for the next ones, as I think they’ll be more interesting, but this one was good in that it did give us more things to talk about, and start a lot of conversations.  Afterwards, we wandered around for a bit before finally deciding to eat at an indian restaurant where I ate a ridiculous amount of food.  The funny thing is that I was totally keeping an “eye” on how I was feeling.  I thought every once in a while “should I stop eating?” but I felt fine, and it was really delicious, so I just kept on going!  Then, the moment I stood up, I totally regretted it.  Oops.

But the weekend is starting, and Andreas is bringing home a package from the post office when he comes, which has our first cloth diapers in it!  Very excited, since this is the first thing we’ve bought for the baby besides six pairs of socks.  We’ve still got three months…that’s forever, right?

26 weeks

Sorry about the weird picture quality…we keep forgetting to take the camera off of “close-up” mode when we do these.

Note: I was supposed to post this a while ago, but decided to wait until I could include a picture.  Since then, the calves and hips have stopped hurting which is wonderful, and as of today, I’m apparently in my third trimester (and running out of clothes that fit)! 

9 thoughts on “So that’s what heartburn feels like – and other making-a-baby stories

    • Thanks! I don’t have a full-length mirror, so I’m always a bit shocked when I see the pictures Andreas takes 😉 sweet words lesson the blow!

  1. (((Hugs))) I miss you so much!!!!! I so wish I could be nearby as you go through this wonderful journey! Okay, enough exclamation marks, right? You’ve got thr most adorable baby belly 🙂 I love that everyone gives you the soft blue chair. That stinks about the heartburn. I got heartburn too, but I have gotten it before in my life as well. Thst’s pretty impressive that you never had heartburn before! Those leg cramps are the worst!! I had them really bad thr first time around. Only a few times thr second time around. With Svara I actually had to skip a day of school after waking in the wee hours with the WORST leg cramp, I couldn’t walk properly for days! Anyway, I love reading posts like this because it makes me feel like I’m closer. But at the same time I really miss you!!!!!!

    • Awww, I know how that feels. I thought it was about time I shared something about the pregnancy, since I usually only mention it passingly 🙂 I miss you, too! It’s definitely hard going through this without family nearby, not because I don’t feel supported, but just because it makes me miss everyone so much when I think about all the daily things I wish I could share. I really hope your luck picks up soon, and don’t worry, I’ll share plenty of pictures of the baby when it finally comes!

  2. You are so adorable!!!
    My experience with heartburn was similar to yours…never had it until I was pregnant. One week before my baby was born, I woke up in the middle of the night and I thought I was dying because the pain was so intense. I actually had to work hard to convince myself that it wasn’t labor since I was only feeling it in my chest.

    Good luck and have a safe rest of the pregnancy! It’s amazing what kind of craziness happens to your body just because you’re pregnant. Hang in there! =)

Leave a Reply

