Pictures as Promised

So I promised a while ago that my next post would have pictures!  No wonder it took me so long to get around to actually posting this…

A quick update: I’ve been busy!  Not like working-during-finals-week-and-packing-and-moving-all-at-the-same-time busy, but still busy.  We’ve been pretty social (well, social for us anyway) and went to a gaming meetup, I’ve had doctors appointments, and I got to see my sister-in-law and her wonderfully cuddly daughter a couple of times.  We also have birth class, and still a good bit of shopping to do for the baby!  I was planning on taking it easy and relaxing for today, since the weekend will be busy with seeing Andreas’s family, making buns for my niece’s party, and then the party itself, but they decided to jackhammer all day long in the courtyard, and it’s driving me insane, so as soon as the laundry is done, I’m hanging it up and going out shopping.  Anyway, I’ve still been rather bad at taking photos, but I’ll share a few that I have!

Blog 9

We made donuts again!  I’d been wanting to for ages, but didn’t want to end up eating them all myself, so we waited until we got together with Andreas’s family, and could share.  We made them thicker than we normally would, and they turned out delightfully puffy and biiiiiig!  It only made 15 or so this way, so we didn’t even have any leftovers, which is a blessing because they’re much, much nicer the first day anyway.

Blog 8

 

Here’s Andreas being cute and frying donuts.  I insisted he needed some new shorts, and convinced him to get the kind that roll up a little bit.  I’ve been pretty satisfied recently about the gradual changes I instituted into his wardrobe (lots of stripey shirts, and pants that fit, and are a bit skinny instead of all saggy-baggy-butt.).  He even admitted he likes his clothes a lot more these days.

Blog 7

 

This is my view.  And yes, it’s almost always stripes.  For some reason, the majority of H&Ms maternity clothes are ALL stripes.  Of course, I’m not complaining, because I’m the biggest stripe-fan I know.

Blog 5

Blog 4

 

We also made spanakopita again recently!  With frozen phyllo dough, it’s actually really easy.  I accidentally cut the strips to the wrong size, so we ended up making some triangley pockets and the rest into a loaf-sized spanakopita pie, which was just as delicious.

Blog 2

Those…well, those are Mud Hen Bars, and they are awesome.  I used to make them for the parties my Spanish class would have (not sure exactly why they were on the list, since we usually had Latin American-ish food, and they don’t seem particularly Latin American to me, but they’re delicious, so I never questioned it).  I had all the ingredients, and decided to go for it (in half-recipe form as I almost always do these days) and was I ever glad I did!

Blog 1

This was a pretty standard dinner of potato kugel, sauteed zucchini, cheddar cheese, and some fresh tomatoes.  It reminded me so much of home, though that I couldn’t help but take a photo.

 

That’s about all I’ve got for now!  The heartburn has been attacking big-time lately, which makes it hard to sleep, and when it’s not heartburn, it’s plain old insomnia and/or early hours construction work, so I’ve been really, really, really tired.  But I hear it’s all par for the course, and I try my best to just get on with things.  After this weekend, I think things will slow down for a bit, so I can slowly get more baby things together, relax a bit, and maybe take more naps!

It actually seems as though the jackhammering has been finished while I took the time to post this, so maybe even a short nap before meeting Andreas for some shopping.  That way I can possibly (possibly) stay awake for a game of Settlers tonight, as Andreas’s sister is staying with us over the weekend!

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Pictures as Promised

  1. It’s entirely possible that I like stripes as much or more than you. :-p I keep telling myself I should venture out into other prints someday, but I just can’t see that happening.

    How much longer til the baby comes?

    • Six weeks until the due date, though I’m guessing the baby will stay in for another week or so after that (I’m doing that whole, counting on it being late so I don’t get too impatient sort of thing). And I’ve dabbled a bit in polka-dots myself, but keep coming back to the stripes!

Leave a Reply

