Leibster: Round 2

Liebster

 

Thanks to the lovely Allison over at Our House in Aarhus, I’m on the Leibster bandwagon again!  Like I’ve said before, my favorite part about these blog awards is discovering new blogs that you otherwise wouldn’t have found, and Allison’s is my new favorite!  I’d love to have more time to peruse through the archives of their adventures through the process of moving here to Denmark, and everything thereafter.

To accept the award, you:

  • thank your nominator
  • list 11 facts about yourself
  • answer the questions posed by the person who nominated you
  • nominate 3-5 blogs by linking to their pages, notifying them, and creating questions of my own for them to answer
  • post the award

Now, I’ve already done this before, but since everything else I’ve been posting lately has been very baby-oriented, I thought I’d take a little break from that and maybe return for a moment to what my blog used to be like!

Eleven Facts About Zeta:

1. I have tried to start flossing innumerable times.  I have yet to make it a habit.  I actually did really well, and flossed for a month and 19 days this summer, but then Theo came along, I fell off the wagon, and I’ve flossed twice in the last six weeks.  Oh well.

2. I have really skinny, long feet.  My mom calls them hot dog feet, my husband calls them plank feet (I think because they’re the same width all the way out).  I call them annoying, because goodness gracious is it hard to find shoes.  My big toe that curls upwards at the tip doesn’t help.  I should really buy elf shoes and call it a day.  I had hoped pregnancy would widen my feet, as I’ve read that it does, but…it didn’t.

3.  When I was in first/second/third grade, I would always read on the bus.  The “big kids” would pass by me and say “WOW! What a big book!  I don’t even read books that big!”  I would think to myself “Umm…just because a book is long, doesn’t mean it’s hard to read” but I never said it out loud, because I didn’t want to hurt their feelings.

4. I really want to start a new knitting project, but I’m so at a loss of what to choose that I can’t get started on anything!

5. In the past two weeks I have made: brownies, pumpkin chocolate chip cookie bars, pumpkin pie, pumpkin pudding, and fudge.  I was trying to start feeling a bit more like myself again, but what I think I’ve actually eneded up doing is just creating a new self–a fat one.

6. I let emails that I should be writing (including thank-you emails) hang over my head for much longer than I should.  I feel such relief when I’ve finally written them, but formulating a message to sound polite/grateful/loving/etc. and getting it right is just too hard to not procrastinate.

7. I take like four supplements a day, and it drives me crazy.  Probiotics, iron, vitamins, and extra organically-bound iron.  Can’t wait to get back to just eating healthily!

8. I always used to get food all over my computer–honey on the mousepad, crumbs between the keys, mysterious droplets on the screen.  Nowadays, I’m hardly ever on the computer, so instead, I end up spilling food all over my son as he nurses–I’ve even dropped an apple on his head (oops.)

9. People have a hard time guessing where I’m from.  I’m used to getting asked when I’m speaking Danish, since I know I don’t have a particularly American accent, but it’s happening all the time when I’m speaking English now, as well.  People tend to think I’m English or Irish.  Weird.

10. I was reading Harry Potter aloud to Theo the other morning.  A few pages in, and I realized I was doing Professor McGonagalls voice with a Scottish accent.

11. I’m pretty sure that I have more pictures of my Freshman year of college than of any other era in my life. (Until, perhaps, now.)

 

Alrighty, time to answer the questions! (My favorite part!)

1. What do you like to read and what is your favorite book?

Hmmmmm…I probably like to read middle-aged women lit the best.  Stories about women and their children, book groups, knitting groups, etc.  That being said, my favorite book is Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.  Harry Potter is my favorite series.  I grew up along with the characters, and it reassures me that not all the classics are in the past, and there must still be good stuff on the horizon.

2. What is your favorite item of clothing / accessory / outfit (pick whatever is most appropriate)?

At the moment, I’m loving wearing my skinny jeans (yay for wearing my own, regular, non-pregnancy pants again!) with my tall brown boots.  It makes me feel very fall-ish, and I love it.
3. What is the best lesson you have learned from being an expat / preparing to be an expat?

The best lesson I have learned is that rudeness is in the eye of the beholder.  There’s a lot of cultural prejudice here in Denmark, and living in a “ghetto” area (many middle-eastern people), I’ve seen a lot of it.  What I’ve come to realize is that a lot of the things that the middle eastern people do are considered pretty rude to Westerners, but to them, it’s just…what they do. (Things like speaking loudly on the bus, not moving for others in the street, and butting in front of you when you’re looking at something in the store).
What do you know now that you wish you had known when you first moved overseas / started your expat journey?

Well, one thing I’m really glad I didn’t know back then was how long it would be before I’d be back.  But as far as something I wish I had known…I wish I’d known that the visas would work out, so I wouldn’t have had to worry as much as I did, and could have maybe enjoyed living in Sweden more.  I miss Malmø now.
What is your favorite experience / memory?

This is really, really hard, so I’m going to cheat and list a few:

1.Getting to know my international knitting group in Sweden.  This was an awesome group of people, and I was so sad to lose them when we moved away.

2. Running.  Starting my running program was one of the most exhilarating, empowering things I’ve ever done.  I was really bummed when I had to stop during pregnancy (with sciatica, icy roads, and then a lot of hip pain), but I’m really looking forward to starting again, either this fall, winter, or in the coming spring.

3. The day I got my Danish visa.  The sense of relief was unbelievable.  It was almost worth all the worry, to feel that euphoria of the worry just evaporating away.
Do you have any pet peeves?

Yes.  I probably have a lot of them, but the one I’ve noticed the most lately is people smoking at the bus stops.  More particularly, people smoking at both ends AND in the middle of the bus stop so that there’s nowhere for me to go to not be smoked on.  More, more particularly: people lighting up right next to me.  In my opinion, it should be as illegal as smoking on the bus, seeing as I have to stand there if I’m going to catch the bus.

 

 

Ahhhhh, it’s been a lovely break from baby-only blogging (although I’m well aware that he leaked into this post a lot too…) but it’s feeding time in our household, and I have to run and post this now, otherwise it’ll never get posted!

5 thoughts on “Leibster: Round 2

  1. Thanks, Zeta, this was fun to read :-). I had a similar experience when I lived in Scotland of people not knowing where I was from. A British man asking me if I was Polish was the most unusual. Huh?

  2. We also live in what Swedes are fast to point out is a ghetto and my husband and I just laugh because at least it means people are out and about unlike some other areas of town if you know what I mean!

  3. I figured you’d already got a Liebster award since you’ve been blogging for so long, but I thought it couldn’t hurt to give you another 🙂 I was totally thinking the same thing about bus stop smokers today as I was waiting for my bus home from sprogskole! So annoying. Are you on ravelry.com? I’ve just started knitting, and I’d be interested in seeing what projects you’ve done.

Leave a Reply

