New Year Things

It’s only a few more hours until the New Year begins, and since Theo is taking a good nap (yay!) I wanted to blog.

I kind of knew all along I’d fall a bit off the blogging bandwagon when Theo was born.  It was part blogging-identity-crisis (what am I now? Expat blogger?  Baby blogger?  Knitting blogger?!) and part not-ever-having-time syndrome.  It was also part traveling-all-over-the-place.  But 2014 is coming up, and with it, I actually have some resolutions for once.

I’m usually not big on resolutions, but New Year’s is coming at a time when I was hoping to make some changes anyways, so I thought I’d do the resolution thing this year, and maybe all the Resolutiony spirit that comes with the holiday will help me out!

I want to blog more.  I know.  Everyone says this.  ALL the time.  But I do, and I think I can make it happen.  That is, if some of my other resolutions work out…

I want Theo to sleep.  I guess that’s not exactly a resolution, but I am super set on helping him figure out this sleeping thing.  He slept great for about…four days, the days in between coming back from the US and going to Andreas’s parents’ place.  Since then, he seems to think his bedtime is 1 am, and that is not okay, seeing as I am SO ready for bed by 11 (if not 10)…

I want to get OUT.  Since our life has kind of been topsy-turvy as of late (Andreas being on parental leave, and all of the travelling), the start of the new year, plus Andreas going back to work is going to set us back into everyday life.  My goal is to get out 2-3 days of the week, and I’m hoping that if I start it right away, it’ll just become habit, and normal life instead of the stressful, nerve-wracking process it sometimes seems to be with a baby.  This kind of leads me to my next “resolution” which is:

I want to know my sister-in-law better.  Andreas has a sister that lives here in Copenhagen.  She has a daughter (who turns one TODAY!  Happy birthday to my little niece!) and a son on the way, due in March.  She’s sweet and considerate, smart and funny, aaaaaaaand kind of intimidating 😉  Not because of anything she does, but mostly just because of how I feel, and I want to get rid of that barrier.  I also want to be able to help more, because yes, I do have a baby, and I am having a bit of a hard time with him, but that doesn’t mean I can’t help others.

Unfortunately, those last two were kind of snagged this week.  We were supposed to go to my niece’s birthday party today.  I was excited!  I had her present all ready, and was going to make a little cake to bring, but I got really sick on Sunday night, and we couldn’t make it.  I’m excited to see them when we next get the chance, though.

For the most part, my goal is to settle more into Denmark, and lead a less-lonely life (and hopefully, hopefully get some more sleep so that I can actually function like a real human being).  Our original vague plan was for me to either go to school or find a job by August 2014, and put Theo in daycare.  When I realized that Theo is more than four months old already, which means I’m already 1/3 of the way done with being able to spend all my time with him, I sort of had a middle-of-the-night freak-out, and honestly, I’m not sure if I’ll be able to do it, but I’ll see what happens, see how we all feel, and kind of go with the flow…

As much as I feel like I need a break sometimes….I don’t know how I could leave this little guy with someone else for most of the day…

DSC_2270

Leave a Reply

