Sunday Currently

Hey! So, I’ve never done a link-up.  To be honest, they’re super intimidating, and I’m afraid I won’t do them right.  But at some point, I just have to get over all that, right?  So, here goes!

Reading–Earlier this week, I read the official guidelines for what to feed your baby in Denmark, but other than that, not much.  I have a book my mom sent me when I was pregnant (about a knitting group!) though, so I’m hoping to start that soon.

Writing–Just a couple of blog posts, a journal entry, and lots of poetry (unfortunately, the latter is only in my head at inopportune moments (i.e. when falling asleep))

Listening–To Theo enjoy play with his carrot before I wipe him down and get him ready for bed.

Thinking–About ways to start reading more.  For real this time!  Going to search the library website, and get some English-language books sent to the library nearest me, but I don’t really know what to look for (I’m really a browser, but that’s not really possible online).  Any suggestions?!

Smelling–Mashed peas.  Of course.
Wishing–That we had more friends in the area!  It’s been tough lately.  I have lots of acquaintances, and they’re lovely, and I do see friendships developing, but to be completely honest, I really, really miss best-friendship.  I’m lucky enough that I do feel like I have that with Andreas, but at the same time, it would be nice to have a friend nearby, who I could just call up and hang out with–not specifically for any reason, or to do anything, but just to talk and share time with.
Hoping–That Theo will go to sleep without a fight so we can eat our dinner soon! (This, as it turns out, is not coming true…)
Wearing–My standard Mom-outfit (jeans, socks with holes in them, a nursing tank, and a sweater).  It’s boring, but it’s what I’ve got right now.  I’m in need of a serious wardrobe overhaul, but I don’t have anyone to shop with, and I don’t like going alone!
Loving–That the two most important people to me are just in the next room
Wanting–My Thai curry leftovers, and to have cozy time with Andreas! (a
Needing–To sleep.  What parent doesn’t?
Feeling–Kind of worn down, and a little discouraged, but better than yesterday (and that’s always something!
siddathornton
4 thoughts on “Sunday Currently

  1. Having to go just go with what the library has on offer in English I have found has really opened up my reading. Back home I would always gravitate to the same things but now I have read books I would never have and loved them!

  2. Browsing the English language books from the library website is really difficult, I’ve found (although I’ve been using Aarhus’ website instead of Copenhagen’s). There is a way to search for all of the English language books, but it’s difficult to break it down from there into genre. I find it’s best to browse on other sites (amazon, goodreads) for books you want to read, and then search to see if the library has them. (You can also search all the libraries in Denmark on bibliotek.dk and have a book sent to your local library.) I’ve also found that the library – at least Aarhus’ library – tends to buy in English mostly the popular literary books and bestsellers, the ones mentioned in the New York Times book review and on Amazon. But you might have more choices in Copenhagen. ((Sorry, I’m a a huge reader, so I jumped on this topic right away 🙂 ))

    • Yeah, I was having the same problems, trying to browse the english language books on the website–but that’s a great suggestion, to browse other places, and then check what they have. I’m on goodreads, so I’ll definitly log on later and make a list, thank you!!

Leave a Reply

