Frump.

I feel like I’ve been stuck in a cycle of frump for the longest time now.

It started about halfway through my pregnancy with Theo.  That’s when most of my stuff stopped fitting me, and slowly my wardrobe dwindled down to two pairs of shorts, a pair of pants, two shirts and two dresses (one of which I used as a shirt half the time).  And most of this was striped because that’s what H&M carried in their maternity section.  Now, I wasn’t complaining, as I’m a big stripe-fan, and most of my non-pregnancy clothes are also striped.

But I think I just hit my stripe-wall.  When Theo was born, I wore mostly sweatpants and nursing tanks for a few weeks, and after that, jeans and nursing tanks.  And then add in a few t-shirts ( long and short sleeved) and that’s pretty much my entire wardrobe.  I think I wore a skirt a couple of times.  Now, there’s nothing wrong with basics, but when it’s all you’ve got, it’s So. Boring.  Also, I’m down to two pairs of (nearly identical) jeans now that one of them has a big hole in the knee (okay, okay, yes, I still wear them anyways…).  So, when my sister-in-law came to visit for a few days, we went SHOPPING!  I’ve been excited about this for a long time.  And especially since I watched two seasons of What Not to Wear lately.  We decided that we’d challenge ourselves to try on things we’d normally just pass over.  And my extra rules were: no stripes and no dresses.

And we totally did it!

I got quite a few new things that really add some variety into my wardrobe, and it gave me such a pick-me-up.  It makes me feel more like I matter, and I’m a real person, too, not just Theo’s mom.

Now if I could just figure out what to do with my hair…

6 thoughts on “Frump.

  1. So happy for you! I also got a case of the frumps this winter due to stripes! When we visited home I bought 5 new sweaters and did not even think that maybe I would get sick of 5 striped sweaters!!
    As far as your hair are you thinking a cut or dye?

    • I know! I never thought I’d tire of them, and I still love my stripes, but man is it good to have a little something else!

      For hair, it’s more a matter of styling, really. I want to grow it out long (kind of just to see how long it’ll get) and I actually like the color, but most days I don’t really know what to do with it (plus it’s still falling out and lost the curl it had a few years ago, don’t know how that happened!)

      • I have heard that every 7 years your hair changes and that having a baby will also change it. I always put mine up but I have a few little clips that makes me feel like I put more effort into it than I really did!

      • Ohh, good tip! Also maybe I should look for some headbands or something…haven’t rocked that look since I was 8, but maybe it’ll still work 😉

  2. Yay! Should be my shopping rules too.. Everything I own is striped haha! Or it’s a black skirt/dress.. 😉
    Sounds like you had fun!

    ..by the way.. I just learned how to twist my hair, it’s like French braiding, but with two strands of hair instead of three. I’m growing out my bangs so it’s good with something that works on short hair..maybe an idea when your hair is growing 🙂

Leave a Reply

