25

Yesterday, I turned 25.

It was no big deal, really.  I’ve been forgetting how old I am for the past year or so, so I sort of thought I was 25 already.  And at risk of sounding like a huge baby, a birthday doesn’t really feel like a birthday when I’m not at home.  With the exception of one, my first 22 birthdays were spent at home.  Since it’s in late spring, I was always home from college.  So I’d get to go out to lunch with my parents (or choose what was for dinner), pick a cake and an ice cream, and just sort of get spoiled.  I wouldn’t have to do chores, I’d get some presents and cards, and it was nice.  I loved my birthday.  But my last good birthday was when I turned 22.  I had my best friend over, and she, my mom, my little sister and I had a mini bachelorette-party (I was getting married six weeks later).  We played the Barbie Game, had root beer floats, and just had fun.  I didn’t really realize how good my family, and especially my mom, was at making me feel special until I left.

My 23rd birthday was spent in Sweden.  Andreas worked, so I spent most of the day alone, and I remember crying while I was walking to pick him up.  Not for any particular reason, but just…because.  I made mini chocolate cakes with peanut butter frosting.  Andreas was so sweet and got me the box set of Friends.  But it didn’t really…feel like a birthday.

My 24th birthday was spent taking a 5-hour written Danish test.  I don’t remember if I had time for a cake.

This year, I started my birthday at midnight-forty five to a screaming (probably teething) baby who was up most of the night.  I was up for good at 5 am, and feeling right sorry for myself.  The day picked up when I met up with my mom-group, but by the time I put Theo to bed, I felt ready to collapse, and Andreas and I both skipped dinner (and cupcakes) and were asleep by 8:30.

But after a better night’s sleep (although the day sort of started at 5 again…) I’m much more optimistic and looking forward to maybe doing a bit of late birthday celebrating over the weekend.  The weather should be lovely, and I’ve got knitting group tomorrow for the first time–yes, the knitting group that I’ve been talking about going to for the past two months, that I still haven’t been able to attend, haha!  But this time, it seems I’ll be healthy, and Andreas should be able to babysit, so I’m definitely going to make it!

As one last note, 25 should have many fewer sleepless nights than 24, so I have no qualms about getting older this year!  Bring on 25!

8 thoughts on “25

  1. Happy Birthday dear!!! This weekend eat all sorts of fun food and enjoy how wonderful your life is! Also can I say I had no idea you were just turning 25 you always seem so mature and level headed!

    • Thanks, I did have a wonderful weekend with the husband (before falling sick again, haha!) People have always told me I seemed older than my age (except when they first meet me and think I’m in high school…) but I don’t know if I ever really feel it… Does me good now, though, as I fit in pretty well with the mom-crowd here, who are all a fair bit older than I am.

  2. Happy Birthday! I remember 25 felt like such a big birthday to me for some reason, like now I was officially an adult. But then you already have the mom thing going on, so maybe you’ve already had that wake up call 🙂 I totally get what you mean about birthdays being less special after you leave home. I think it also happens with growing up. They’re just not as much fun as they used to be because you’ve got so many responsibilities that usually the birthday thing ends up taking back seat. Plus it’s hard when your family’s not there to spoil you 🙂 Hopefully you were able to make a special weekend out of it!

    • Thanks! 🙂 We were able to make it to brunch, and to stroll around town in the weekend, so it definitely made up for it. And I think you’re right, it just comes with growing up (but I wish it didn’t, haha!)

Leave a Reply

