Time, please!

So, as I mentioned in one of my last posts, I was going to make more time for reading, and activities that made me feel like my old self.  I got a few books from the library, and have been loyally devoting time to getting reacquainted with paper pages, remembering page numbers, dissolving into a story, and forgetting my own.

And all that dissolving has, unfortunately, stolen much of what was once blog-writing time.  I’ve even had a few ideas for posts, and haven’t gotten around to actually writing them.  It’s frustrating.  I used to have time for everything, even too much time, and now, I feel like there’s no time for everything except cleaning up, which I seem to do about 90% of the time.  *sigh*  I guess if I try to squeeze in another activity, some of the others are bound to get pushed out.  I only hope that it’ll balance out soon, and there will be small time for both.

A quick update:

Things are generally going well.  I’ve had periods of feeling utterly overwhelmed at the thought of everything that’s going on, and times where everything feels under control.  To be honest, I kind of don’t know which feeling to trust more.  The reality is probably somewhere in between those two extremes.

I’m proud of myself for getting back into reading, and for keeping up with my running.  I’ve run every other day for the past four weeks, never skipping, and that’s really something, in my book.  I’ve also been pretty good with meal planning and cooking, and keeping up with household chores, so on the surface, everything’s good and under control.

I’ve been feeling a bit overwhelmed socially–not that I have too many friends or anything, haha!  But it’s seemed like I don’t have enough time for just Andreas and myself, or even Andreas, Theo, and myself.  However, I picked and chose my social engagements carefully for a couple of weeks, to try to give myself some more re-charging time, and it seems to be working.  I was feeling sort of like I was only half present–like I would be listening to someone, and trying really hard to listen and to be there, and I just…wasn’t.  But that feeling has been passing, I think, and I’m feeling more here for lack of a better term.

Theo’s doing medium.  He has some really great days, and when he’s a happy fellow, my heart turns to liquid and just bursts inside my chest.  But days like today, where he’s clingy and unhappy, and sleeps weird, and won’t go to bed…they’re tough.  But we get through it, and always hope for a better day tomorrow.

Andreas is taking this Friday off, so we can all have a long weekend, and I’m really looking forward to it.  So far, we don’t really have plans, which is NICE.  I’m hoping for good weather so we can get out and about and have some little family adventures.

Anyway, that’s how things are right now.  Mostly good and fine, with touches of frustration–so…pretty much…regular life!  And here’s a cute picture of my little crazy creature in return for your reading this!

Absolutely gleeful that he managed to find and undo the aluminum foil

Absolutely gleeful that he managed to find and undo the aluminum foil

One thought on “Time, please!

Leave a Reply

