Chef Zeta

Every week, before I do our meal planning, I browse the local grocery store ads to see what’s on sale, and usually plan accordingly.  This week, there was some inexpensive cod, and since it’s been a really long time since we’ve had fish, I decided to add it to the menu.  Only, I got distracted during the meal-planning phase (gee, I wonder what could have possibly distracted me…), and had only planned “cod” for dinner tonight.

But you see, lately, we’ve been watching a lot of Chopped and Cutthroat Kitchen and Good Eats (Thank you very much, Netflix.) so I decided to just have a peek in our cupboards and throw something together.  And though there was no timer ticking down or hosts breathing down my neck, I had to do it fast because Theo was hungry.  And tired.  And loud.

So I threw some couscous in a pan, chopped any vegetable I could get my hands on (tomato, zucchini, bell pepper, and onion), and tossed the cod onto the pan with some paprika, garlic powder, and salt and pepper.  I added some hot pickled peppers that I found on special in Netto this week, and I can honestly say it’s the best fish meal I ever made.  And I just made it up!  All of it!

I know that doesn’t make me a chef, or super special or anything, but I’ve been getting a lot more comfortable in the kitchen over the years, and I realized that more and more often, I’ve been making up my own recipes, and they’re super delicious!  I know it sounds really silly, but I just didn’t think that I was good enough to make up my own recipe.  But I totally can.

It’s just funny, because I could always cook.  But I also always thought to myself “anyone can cook, you just have to follow a recipe! So easy!”  But lately, I really feel like I’m learning even more, and branching out, and maybe cooking in a way that not everyone can cook.  And right now, during my super boring and slow and stressful job search, I need all the self-esteem I can get, and today it appeared as pan-seared cod!

3 thoughts on “Chef Zeta

  1. I love throwing a bunch of stuff together to make a meal. I love cooking and for me it is like a really fun experiment to see what kinds of flavors I can mix and get good results. I’ve pretty much stopped following recipes at this point, which sometimes is disastrous, but also really fun. Well done!

  2. This post is so me, well minus the baby, I always thought cooking was such a thing people were able to do and only lately I have realized that is actually a skill I have. I also like to pretend I am on a cooking show sometimes!!

Leave a Reply

