What’s Happening

It’s 13 days into the new year, and I just wanted to give a quick update.

The first…ten days or so were awful.  We were recovering from the holidays, Theo got sick, then he started in daycare, and I got sick, and he stopped sleeping, and was miserable, and nothing was regular.  I was suddenly sling-shot (slung-shot?) back into the newborn/colic/what-do-we-do-and-when-will-this-be-over? days.  I was tired and sad and irrationally worried that we had lost our happy boy, made a huge mistake, and ruined everything.

But last night, he slept through the night.  Yesterday, he was happy ALL DAY, and fell asleep on his own.  He’s starting to speak, copying everything we do, and is the best boy again.

It was a bad week.  I think that we combined overstimulation with being sick with a developmental leap, and it was a mess.  But things seem to be getting so much better.

It’s still pretty heartwrenching to drop him off at daycare.  We’re doing it super gradually, and today, being his fifth day there, he’ll stay for about two hours, and try to eat lunch there.   But he bawls the moment the door opens (although he’s still more than happy to ring the doorbell…) and is bawling when I pick him up.  However, I trust the woman taking care of him, and she tells me exactly how it went, and I know he’ll get used to it.  I’m grateful that we can go as slowly as he needs, that I don’t have reservations about his dagplejemor.  It will be okay.  It will get better, just like it’s better now than it was last week.

And when it does get better, Andreas is taking a day off, and we’re going to go ON A DATE, and I’m really, really excited about that.  Plus, a friend I haven’t gotten to see since before the holidays is coming this afternoon with her son, and I’m really looking forward to catching up, and talking about things with someone other than Andreas 😉  Now let’s see if I can find a cake I want to bake before it’s time to go pick Theo up!

Now just a couple photos, since I know I’ve been stingy with them latey 😉

DSC_7281 DSC_7302

2 thoughts on “What’s Happening

Leave a Reply

