Sometimes, Things Go Well

And they’re going pretty darn well right now.

Every day at daycare seems to go better than the last.  The last time he was there, he had a wonderful day, eaten lunch, and was dancing with joy when I came to pick him up, instead of howling.

We had a great day on Friday.  Theo behaved remarkably while we went out shopping with my sister-in-law, and when his cousins and aunt and uncle came for dinner, the kids all had a great time together, burgers were eaten, and it was just a fantastic day.

Today is his first day back at daycare, and although he was upset when I dropped him off, it didn’t seem as bad as it had been previously.  I’m anxious to pick him up today, and hear how his day went.

Right now, I’m trying to embrace the moment.  Theo is doing great.  I’m absolutely determined to enjoy my toddlerless mornings while I have the chance.  It’s discouraging to not have any positive news on the job-search front, but when I do get a job, I’d really regret it if I spent my at-home-alone time moping around instead of taking advantage of the quiet hours I’ve been given.

I have a few projects lined up for my extra free time.  At the moment, I’m only getting around to extra job searching, since that’s first priority.  But once Theo starts napping at day care, I’ll have a bit more time, and I plan to: read more, finally make an organized, physical binder of the recipes we use regularly, organize all the videos from the past two years, and maybe make a DVD of highlights for relatives, try more new recipes to see if I can find some more for our regular rotation.

One thing I’m worried might go down in quality when I start work is dinner!  That’s why I want to take this time to get super organized.  A binder full of printed, detailed recipes would be super helpful if I need Andreas to help more with dinner, and I’d love to expand our repertoire.  So now when I have a bit more time and energy, I’d like to find more quick and easy (or easy to make ahead of time) dinners for when things are a bit more hectic or busy.

It might just be a temporary optimism that has gotten its hold on me, but I’m enjoying it while it lasts, and really focusing on the things that are going great right now.  Now for a slice of pumpkin cheesecake and some well-deserved relax-time!

3 thoughts on “Sometimes, Things Go Well

Leave a Reply

