It’s been too long, so… Lemon Chiffon Pie

I haven’t posted a baking post in I-don’t-know-how-long!  It’s not that I don’t bake anymore, I bake something almost weekly (I don’t want to know how much butter I go through in a year), but I haven’t made time to take photos.  However, something finally changed, and I managed to take some of this Lemon Chiffon Pie I made yesterday!

I first heard of it on an episode of America’s Test Kitchen that I saw while I was in the US (still is and always will be one of my favorite cooking shows!).  It looked great, but I didn’t have time to make it right away.  Recently, I had a few spare lemons, and was browsing Foodgawker for lemon-related recipes, when I remembered that I promised Andreas that I’d make this!

The end result is quite nice, fluffy, a little rich, a little foamy, a bit crunchy, and very lemony!  It’s really delicious, bright and refreshing!

DSC_8669

My crust ended up a bit thick at the corners, and I also had to substitute almost half of the graham cracker crumbs with bread crumbs…

DSC_8640

DSC_8645

DSC_8646

DSC_8649

It was a really fun pie to put together, with a graham cracker (ahem…breadcrumb…) crust, lemon curd, and a fluffy chiffon topping.

I used this vegetarian gelatin I had lying around, and didn’t quite know how to convert it.  I think I may have ended up using not quite enough, because my pie flops around quite a bit when you take pieces out, but I’d rather have a sloppy piece of pie with a nice texture, so I’m glad it turned out the way it did.

DSC_8666

DSC_8650

4 thoughts on “It’s been too long, so… Lemon Chiffon Pie

Leave a Reply

