Hello, 2016

Now that the year has officially begun, and I am seeing everyone’s posts about resolutions or looking back at the past year, I realized that I had done neither of those things, and was completely unprepared to start the new year.  But, perhaps better late than never, so here I go.

Looking back on last year’s New Year’s post, I only realized with a bit of a mental “nuts…” That not very many of the things I was hoping for 2015 came to fruition.  My job search stayed a job search, my plans for education jolted in at least 5 different directions before deciding on one, and we’re not quite ready to think about the next addition to the Hermit Crab clan on anything but hypothetical terms.  But on the bright side, I did make it through, and came out the other side.  Andreas switched jobs for the better, Theo is speaking eloquently, and I did manage to finish all of my Danish education, and with good marks to boot!  We have a lovely, cozy, clean home, and we’re in a good place to start the new year.

One thing I want to work on in 2016 is being more positive.  I’m not, by nature, a particularly negative person, but there is of course room for improvement.  I want to really embrace positivity, because I believe in the power of a positive outlook.  I’m sure that we will face some big challenges in the next 12 months, and I want to meet them ready and confident instead of filled with dread.

I also want to do more things.  I don’t even mean particularly big things, but I just want to fill more of my free hours with projects, activity, and fun!  Andreas and I often find ourselves too easily convinced to spend the evening on the couch with Netflix, and while I want to leave space for that as well, we realized that even we need to make plans sometimes.  Even things as simple as more ambitious cake-making projects, board games, and handyman projects will make that free time feel better used, and the Netflix marathons feel more deserved.

Being a bit more up-and-at-’em might also help me actually accomplish some of the goals I set for myself last January, like getting all of our recipes organized and printed, and sorting through the videos and photos I have from the last two years, and finally getting around to printing a few large stacks.  

It’s admittedly hard to believe that I will actually get any of the things done, but there’s an extra glow of hope hovering around the first of January, and I’ll enjoy it while it lasts! 

Happy New Year!

   
 
 

One thought on “Hello, 2016

Leave a Reply

