On Being 27

This past Sunday, I turned 27.

I blessed Denmark with some wonderful weather (you’re welcome, Denmark!) so much of the day was spent outside on a walk (to the candy store…) and at the flea market.  I finally made myself a cake this year, which I had neglected to do the past few years, and I was really happy I did, as it felt much more like a birthday than a birthday away from home has ever felt!

20160522_151544

I guess I’m 27 now instead of 26, but I don’t really feel old yet, because as far as I’m concerned 27 is still considered “mid-twenties” so I had no crisis of coming out of an era.  So it was a crisis-free, cake-filled birthday–the best kind, if you ask me.

Like I said, I don’t feel much different than I did on Saturday (except that the takeout we got on my birthday may have food-poisoned me a bit) but I do have some wishes for 27.

First and foremost, I want something to do.  I want to get an internship, which is the next step in my education.  It’s actually one of the things I am most nervous about doing–as a change in daily routine, and getting even busier is always intimidating, but I am definitely ready and will be thrilled when I can check this box.

Most of the rest of my wishes for 27 are also my New Year’s Resolutions.  Doing more things, being more active, reading more, etc.  And I think I will actually do all those things, because I’ve been more disciplined, positive, and progressive than ever lately.

Turn 27?  Don’t mind if I do!

One thought on “On Being 27

Leave a Reply

