The American Hermit Crab Coming Out of her Shell

I have started work!  I started over two weeks ago, which seems ludicrous now.  The night before I started, I suffered a full-blown panic attack, crying uncontrollably–worried and anxious about every possible thing, and some impossible things.

But already after the very first day, most of my anxieties were quieted.  I had been worried about the flexibility of the work hours, but fortunately, I’m able to start by 7:30 every  morning, which means I can leave at 3:30, which means I don’t pick up Theo terribly late.  He’s thriving in preschool, and I look forward to coming to pick him up every day.

Everyone in the office is so nice (at least in my department) and it’s quite a nice atmosphere, and unless I’m just completely oblivious to tension and drama, there really isn’t any!  I’m starting to get a handle on my routine tasks I have to do, and it’s getting to the point where learning new things isn’t as overwhelming as it was in the first week, now that I know the basics, and how the systems work.

Speaking Danish all day is somehow a non-issue.  Maybe because I’m mostly used to it, speaking Danish with my in-laws and out in public.  It’s actually mostly an issue over lunch, and with the everyday banter kinds of things.  Sometimes, it goes over my head, and I just sort of smile along.  Sometimes, I’m a little bit lost when everyone is talking at lunch, and I can occasionally feel outside, but I think that will pass relatively quickly.

I was really afraid I would be so drained by the end of the day, that I would have no energy left for Theo and Andreas, and just the household stuff in general, but surprisingly, the opposite has been true!  Being out of the house, with other people, learning things, doing things, and coming back at the end of the day means I am even happier to see and spend time with my family!  The chores are being done a bit more in the weekend, but it’s not nearly as big of a deal as I feared.

Overall, things are going so, so well!  I can only hope it continues like this–it’s almost too good to be true, I’m a little afraid something will come to light that I hadn’t counted on, but as of now, I am only grateful that everything is going as well as it is.

And as a sidenote, I’m looking forward to fall and all the pumpkin baked goods!

Pumpkin!

One thought on “The American Hermit Crab Coming Out of her Shell

Leave a Reply

